Klerman & Freedman Awards Dinner (by invitation only)

Friday, July 28, 2017
Klerman and Freedman Awards Dinner

The Klerman & Freedman Prizes are awarded annually to outstanding researchers who have received awards through the Brain & Behavior Research Foundation’s Young Investigator Grant program, which supports young scientists as they gather pilot data and “proof of concept” for their innovative clinical and basic research.

The Prizes are named for Gerald L. Klerman and Daniel X. Freedman, two neuropsychiatry pioneers who played seminal roles as researchers, teachers, physicians and administrators. The prizewinners are selected by committees of the Foundation’s Scientific Council, a volunteer group of 168 distinguished scientists in brain-related research disciplines, led by Dr. Herbert Pardes.

Celebrating our 30th Anniversary & honoring our Scientific Council.

This year, we'll celebrate 30 years of discoveries, the volunteer service of our Scientific Council and recognize Young Investigator Grantees for excellence and innovation in basic and clinical research.

Moderated by 
Herbert Pardes, M.D.
NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital

Executive Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees

Scientific Council Member (President & Founding Member)

2014 Pardes Humanitarian Prize in Mental Health

Dr. Herbert Pardes left the position as President and CEO of NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital and NewYork-Presbyterian Healthcare System, and became Executive Vice Chairman of the Board of NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital. Nationally recognized for his broad expertise in education, research, clinical care and health policy, he is an ardent advocate of academic medical centers, humanistic care and the power of technology and innovation to transform 21st-century medicine.

An outspoken proponent for academic medicine, children’s health education, mental health issues, access to care and information technology in medicine, Dr. Pardes is a regular guest on national television news programs and contributes opinion pieces appearing in the Wall Street Journal and other newspapers. He is active at the state and federal level, supporting legislation to help hospitals provide quality health care while balancing today’s economic realities with making the best possible medical care available to all who need it.

Photo Gallery