

747 Third Avenue, 33rd Floor New York, NY 10017

t 646 681 4888 800 829 8289 f 646 681 4891

bbrfoundation.org

April 3, 2023

Recommendations for the 2023 Colvin Prize

Dear Colleague:

The *Colvin Prize for Outstanding Achievement in Mood Disorders Research* is an award of \$50,000 given by the **Brain & Behavior Research Foundation**, to an outstanding scientist carrying out work on the causes, pathophysiology, treatment, or prevention of bipolar illness. The scientist to be recognized is one who gives particular promise for advancing our understanding of affective illness or its basic brain mechanisms that will lead to new treatment approaches.

The Prize was awarded to: me in 1993; Myrna Weissman, Ph.D. and Jules Angst, M.D. in 1994; Claude DeMontigny, M.D., Ph.D. in 1995; Wade Berrettini, M.D., Ph.D., Elliott Gershon, M.D. and Ray DePaulo, Jr., M.D., in 1996; Arthur Prange, Jr., M.D. and Charles Nemeroff, M.D., Ph.D. in 1997; Martin Keller, M.D., and Julien Mendlewicz, M.D., Ph.D. in 1998; Frederick Goodwin, Ph.D. and Husseini Manji, M.D., FRCPC in 1999; Robert Belmaker, M.D., A. John Rush, M.D. and Kay Jamison, Ph.D. in 2000; to Hagop S. Akiskal, M.D., and William E. Bunney, Jr., M.D., in 2001; Ronald Duman, Ph.D., and Paul Grof, M.D., Ph.D., in 2002; Robert Hirschfeld, M.D., Ross Baldessarini, M.D., and Leonardo Tondo, M.D., in 2003; Joseph Calabrese, M.D., and Harold Sackheim, Ph.D., in 2004; Jan Fawcett, M.D., and Alan Schatzberg, M.D., to 2005; Lori Altshuler, M.D., in 2006; Helen S. Mayberg, M.D., in 2007; Charles Bowden, M.D., and Mark George, M.D., in 2008; Lewis L. Judd, M.D., in 2009; Lars Vedel Kessing, M.D., D.M.Sc., in 2010; David J. Miklowitz, Ph.D. and Carlos Zarate, M.D in 2011; Eduard Vieta, M.D., Ph.D. and Karen Dineen Wagner, M.D., Ph.D. in 2012; Boris Birmaher, M.D. and Andrew Nierenberg, M.D. in 2013; Wayne Drevets, M.D. and Fritz Henn, M.D., Ph.D. in 2014; Michael Berk, M.D., Ph.D., MBBCh, MMed FFSA FRANZCP and L. Trevor Young, M.D., Ph.D. in 2015; and to Pamela Sklar, M.D., Ph.D., Thomas Schulze, M.D., & Francis McMahon, M.D. in 2016, Hilary Blumberg, M.D. & Mary L. Phillips, M.D., M.D., (Cantab), and Tadafumi Kato, M.D., Ph.D. in 2017, Benjamin I. Goldstein, M.D., Ph.D., and Lakshmi N. Yatham, M.D. in 2018 and Sophia Frangou, M.D., Ph.D., John Krystal, M.D. and Dennis Charney, M.D., in 2019, and Martin Alda, M.D., F.R.C.P.C. and Gustavo Turecki, M.D., Ph.D. in 2020 and Kathleen Burdick, Ph.D., Colleen McClung, Ph.D. and Aleksander Mathe, M.D., Ph.D. in 2021 and J. John Mann, M.D. in 2022.

Before selecting the awardee(s) for 2023, a panel consisting of Drs. Hilary Blumberg, Wade Berrettini, William Bunney, Jr., Husseini Manji, Andrew Nierenberg, Karen Wagner, and myself will review the contributions of suggested scientists from around the world who are carrying out work on bipolar illness.

I am writing to you and to other leading scientists to ask if you would call to our attention, outstanding individuals who have made significant contributions to bipolar affective illness research in the last five years. Please forward to my address below by Tuesday, May 2, 2023, the name and a short note describing the nature of the contribution for which the investigator was primarily responsible and its significance to the field. Please keep in mind that contributions may be in either clinical research or relevant basic science. If your own work qualifies, please also call it to our attention.

The submission of this information does not constitute a nomination of an individual, but will enable the panel to establish a list of eligible scientists for further consideration and deliberation. Thank you for your assistance in the awarding of this important honor. **Please send to the address below:**

Robert M. Post, M.D., Chair, Colvin Prize Selection Committee Email: robert.postmd@gmail.com

Sincerely,

Robert M. Post, M.D. Head, Bipolar Collaborative Network, Bethesda, MD