

747 Third Avenue, 33rd Floor New York, NY 10017

t 646 681 4888 800 829 8289 f 646 681 4891

bbrfoundation.org

April 3, 2023

Recommendations for the 2023 Ruane Prize in Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Research

Dear Colleague:

The **Ruane Prize for Outstanding Achievement in Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Research** is a prize of \$50,000 given by the Brain & Behavior Research Foundation to an outstanding scientist carrying out research on the causes, pathophysiology, treatment or prevention of severe child psychiatric illness. The scientist to be recognized is one who gives particular promise for advancing our understanding of psychotic, affective or other severe psychiatric disorders having their onset in childhood or adolescence.

This Prize was first awarded to Sir Michael Rutter in 2000, awarded to Dr. Donald Cohen in 2001, to Dr. Judith Rapoport in 2002, to Dr. Leon Eisenberg in 2003, shared by Dr. Magda Campbell & Dr. Keith Connors, to Dr. Rachel Klein in 2004, to Dr. Alan Reiss in 2005, to Dr. David Brent and Dr. David Shaffer in 2006, to Dr. James Leckman in 2007, to Dr. Eric Andrew Taylor in 2008, to Dr. Adrian Angold & Dr. Jane Costello in 2009, to Dr. Avshalom Caspi & Dr. Terrie E. Moffitt in 2010, to me in 2011 to, Dr. Daniel Geschwind & Dr. Matthew State in 2012, to Dr. Jay Giedd in 2013, to Dr. Anita Thapar in 2014, to Dr. BJ Casey & Dr. Francisco Castellanos in 2015, Dr. John Rubenstein in 2016 and to Dr. Nathan A. Fox., to Dr. Charles A. Nelson, III. And Dr. Charles H. Zeanah, Jr. in 2017, to Dr. Ami Klin and Dr. Joseph Piven in 2018, Dr. Stephen P. Hinshaw in 2019, Dr. Joan L. Luby in 2020 and to Dr. Kenneth Dodge, Dr. John Walkup in 2021 and Boris Birmaher, M.D. in 2022.

A panel consisting of myself, Drs. Joseph Coyle, James Leckman, Joan Luby, Matthew State, Anita Thapar and Jeremy Veenstra-VanderWeele will review the contributions of scientists from around the world who are carrying out such work. It would be of great help if you would call to our attention individuals who have made such significant contributions to child psychiatric research in the last ten years. Please forward the name along with a short note describing the nature of the contribution for which the investigator was primarily responsible, and its significance to the field together with a copy of the individual's CV in one single PDF File labeled "<insert Last Name>, <insert First Name> 2023 Ruane Prize" to Ms. Sho Tin Chen Director, Research Grants at schen@bbrfoundation.org by Tuesday, May 2, 2023. Please note that last year's nominations do carry over, however, please send updated information if you would like to be considered.

Please keep in mind that contributions may be for clinical research or relevant basic science. Thank you for your assistance in the awarding of this important honor.

Sincerely,

Daniel S. Pine, M.D.
Chair, Ruane Prize
Chief, Section on Development and Affective Neuroscience
Chief, Emotion & Development Branch
National Institute of Mental Health